GMP tablet compression machine comparison for USFDA and EU GMP compliant facilities

GMP Tablet Compression Machine: FDA & EU Buyer Guide 2026

Reviewed by Darshan Singh, 23+ years in pharmaceutical QA, QC and regulatory affairs · Updated 24 October 2026

Short answer

A GMP tablet compression machine is not one that carries a “USFDA approved” or “21 CFR Part 11 certified” label — no regulator approves a press. It is one whose design, product-contact materials, cleanability, calibration and electronic controls let your plant meet 21 CFR 211.63–211.68[1], Part 11 for its electronic records[2] and EU GMP Annex 15 qualification[3], and that you have proved through URS, DQ, FAT/SAT, IQ, OQ and PQ.

Below: verified manufacturer figures for six high-output presses, a filter to shortlist them, what each regulation actually asks of the equipment, and a weight-variation limit calculator for the in-process checks at the press.

GMP tablet compression machine comparison for USFDA and EU GMP compliant facilities

What changed in this update. The earlier version of this page listed paracetamol and ibuprofen as OEB3 compounds, defined double-sided presses wrongly, stated that every press “meets 21 CFR Part 11”, and gave price, TCO and ROI figures with no source. Those claims are corrected or removed below. Specifications are now only what each manufacturer publishes, with a citation on every figure.

GMP tablet compression machines compared: verified manufacturer specs

Every figure below comes from the manufacturer’s own product page or press release, read on 24 October 2026. Where a maker does not publish a value, the table says so instead of guessing. Maximum outputs are the maker’s best case with its smallest tooling; your output depends on tooling, tablet size, formulation and the turret speed your product tolerates.

Shortlist by requirement

Peak output you need
Potent or toxic actives (containment)
Bilayer tablets

Choose your requirements above

The table highlights presses whose maker confirms every requirement you pick. “Not stated” counts as not confirmed — ask that maker in writing.

PressConfigurationMax stationsMax output (maker)Max tablet sizeCompression forceContainmentBilayerNotable features
Fette Compacting FE55[4] Rotary; footprint 1,626 × 1,306 mm, approx. 4,000 kg 87 626,400/h 25 mm Not stated Containment version available; Fette’s 2015 package rated OEB 3 by its own definition[14] Not stated TRI.EASY design, Fill-O-Matic three-chamber filling, SmartInterface compatible
Korsch XL 400, 4th gen (XL 4004 SFP)[5] Single-sided, dedicated to single-layer tablets Not stated 338,400/h at 120 rpm[6] Not stated 100 kN pre + 100 kN main Integrated solutions for OEB 3, 4 and 5 No (SFP is single-layer) PLC control with secure login, product recipes, electronic audit trails
GEA NexGen Press 45[7] Large high-speed press, presented 26 June 2024 Not stated 500,000+/h Not stated Not stated Up to OEB 5 via FAST CHANGEOVER Exchangeable Compression Module Yes Six compression modes; bilayer, MUPS and microtablets named
Syntegon TPR 500[8] Production press, 56-station die table 56 403,200/h (standard tooling) 16 mm Not stated Not stated for TPR 500 (OEB 3 cabin is listed for TPR 200 Plus) Not stated Same software across the TPR range; optional data acquisition system
IMA Prexima 800[9] Double-sided 65 (B) / 81 (BB) / 105 (IMA 8 segments) 702,000 (B) / 874,800 (BB) / 1,260,000 (IMA 8) 25 mm (D tooling) Pre + main up to 100 kN Not stated for the 800 Yes Range-wide 100 kN pre- and main compression
IMA Prexima 300[9] Single-sided, medium production 33 (B) / 41 (BB) / 55 (IMA 8) 237,600 (B) / 295,200 (BB) / 396,000 (IMA 8) 25 mm (D); big tablets to 39 mm Pre + main up to 100 kN Not stated for the 300 Not stated Bridges pilot and production output

Scroll the table sideways on a phone. Prices are not listed: none of these makers publishes one, and a quote depends on stations, tooling sets, containment, in-process control units and qualification support.

What “USFDA and EU GMP compliant” means for a tablet press

Regulators inspect your plant, your records and your validation, not a catalogue. The equipment requirements sit in three places.

United States

21 CFR 211 Subpart D and Part 11

  • 211.63 – appropriate design, adequate size, suitably located for operation, cleaning and maintenance[1].
  • 211.65 – product-contact surfaces must not be reactive, additive or absorptive so as to alter the product[1].
  • 211.67 – cleaning and maintenance at appropriate intervals, under written procedures[1].
  • 211.68 – automatic and electronic equipment routinely calibrated or checked under a written programme; controls over changes to master records[1].
  • Part 11 applies to records in electronic form kept under FDA record requirements (11.1)[2]. A press can offer audit trails, user levels and e-signatures; compliance comes from how you validate and run them.

Related: most-cited USFDA inspection findings and how to prepare.

European Union

EU GMP Annex 15 and Annex 11

  • Annex 15 section 3 sets the qualification chain: URS (3.2), DQ (3.3), FAT/SAT (3.4–3.7), IQ (3.8–3.9), OQ (3.10–3.12), PQ (3.13–3.14). In operation since 1 October 2015[3].
  • Annex 11 (in operation since 30 June 2011) covers the press HMI and any data system: risk-based validation, audit trails reviewed regularly, access control and electronic signatures[10].
  • A revised Annex 11 was released as a draft on 7 July 2025; consultation closed 7 October 2025. We found no adopted final text as of 24 October 2026, so the 2011 text still applies — check EudraLex before relying on this[11].

India

Revised Schedule M — now in enforcement

  • Revised Schedule M was notified in December 2023. MSMEs that applied with a CAPA plan had until 31 December 2025[12].
  • On 7 November 2025 the DCGI asked state drug controllers to inspect units that took the extension, act immediately against units that did not apply, and report monthly[12].
  • An Indian plant exporting to the US or EU answers to all three sets of rules at once.

Status checked 24 October 2026. Track later orders on the CDSCO Schedule M compliance dashboard.

What to write into the URS for a tablet press

Annex 15 makes the URS the reference point for the whole qualification life cycle[3]. A press URS that will survive an inspection usually states:

  • Product range: tablet shapes, diameters, bilayer or not, tooling standard (EU/TSM, B, BB, D) and output at the turret speed your blend tolerates.
  • Product-contact materials with certificates, surface finish and a cleaning concept (manual, wash-in-place or exchangeable module) tied to 211.65 and 211.67.
  • Force monitoring and automatic rejection of out-of-limit tablets, with the parameters you will validate.
  • Data integrity: user levels, audit trail content, time stamps, electronic signatures, back-up and data export — mapped to Part 11 and Annex 11.
  • Containment target stated as an airborne concentration (µg/m³), not just an OEB label, plus the vendor’s test method.
  • Calibration points (force transducers, speed, sensors) and the frequency your 211.68 programme will use.
  • FAT and SAT protocols, IQ/OQ documentation package, spare tooling, training and service response.

For how a press fits into the tablet section’s equipment list, see the pharma machinery list for tablet, capsule and liquid sections.

Tablet press containment: what OEB 3, 4 and 5 really mean

OEB (occupational exposure band) is not a European standard. It is an industry hazard-banding practice: a 1996 Merck paper set out five performance-based exposure control limit categories, from conventional handling for low-potency materials (category 1) up to closed processes for extremely potent ones (category 5)[13]. Each company and equipment maker now defines its own bands and airborne limits.

Correction. Paracetamol, ibuprofen and vitamins are not OEB 3 compounds. OEB 3 is already a contained band: Fette, for example, described its FE55 OEB 3 package as handling actives at a dust exposure of 10–100 µg/m³[14]. Common low-potency generics normally sit in the lowest bands, but the band is set by your own toxicological assessment of each active, not by a published list.

Practical rule: ask each vendor for the airborne concentration its containment version achieved, the surrogate and test method used, and whether it applies to compression only or to the whole train including deduster and metal detector.

Single-sided vs double-sided tablet presses

Every rotary press compresses between an upper and a lower punch. “Double-sided” means the turret passes two sets of compression rollers and two feeders per revolution, so each station makes two tablets per turn. IMA’s own tables show the effect: with BB tooling the single-sided Prexima 300 gives 295,200 tablets/h from 41 stations (7,200 per station per hour), while the double-sided Prexima 800 gives 874,800 from 81 stations (10,800 per station per hour)[9].

Choose double-sided for long campaigns of one product. Choose single-sided when you change products often, run potent compounds that need short cleaning cycles, or make bilayer tablets on a press that offers it. For how the compression cycle works, read the working principle of a tablet compression machine.

Tablet testing at the press: in-process GMP checks

Whatever press you buy, batch release rests on the in-process checks run beside it. Three points are often misquoted:

  • Uniformity of mass (Ph. Eur. 2.9.5) uses three mass bands; it is a different test from uniformity of dosage units[15].
  • Weight variation instead of content uniformity is accepted across ICH regions only when the 25 mg / 25 % threshold is met; FDA rejects the 2 % RSD exception[16].
  • Friability is not more than 1.0 % mean loss of mass unless the dossier specifies otherwise[17]. Hardness has no compendial limit: Ph. Eur. 2.9.8 reports the mean, minimum and maximum force on 10 tablets, and the limit is your product specification[18].

Uniformity of mass limit calculator (Ph. Eur. 2.9.5, uncoated and film-coated tablets)

Mass band–
Limit (max 2 of 20 outside)–
None outside (twice the limit)–

Enter the average mass of 20 tablets. Add the active content to check whether weight variation can replace content uniformity.

Bands read from the Ph. Eur. 7.0 text of 2.9.5; confirm against your current edition and your registered specification, which governs. Indian Pharmacopoeia limits were not checked for this page.

Running the test itself? The friability test SOP with the 1.0 % limit explained covers the method step by step.

Planning a tablet section?

Estimate the full cost before you shortlist a press

The press is one line in a tablet block that also needs HVAC, granulation, coating, QC instruments and Schedule M area. Get a working budget for the whole plant first.

Open the pharma plant setup cost calculator

Related on laafon.com

Frequently asked questions

References

  1. US Food and Drug Administration. 21 CFR Part 211 Subpart D – Equipment (211.63, 211.65, 211.67, 211.68). Electronic Code of Federal Regulations. Available from: ecfr.gov. Accessed Oct 2026.
  2. US Food and Drug Administration. 21 CFR 11.1 – Electronic records; electronic signatures: scope. Electronic Code of Federal Regulations. Available from: ecfr.gov. Accessed Oct 2026.
  3. European Commission. EudraLex Volume 4, Annex 15: Qualification and Validation. Brussels; 30 Mar 2015 (in operation 1 Oct 2015). Available from: health.ec.europa.eu. Accessed Oct 2026.
  4. Fette Compacting. FE Series tablet presses – technical data FE35, FE55, FE75. Available from: fette-compacting.com. Accessed Oct 2026.
  5. Korsch AG. Korsch to present enhanced 4th generation tablet press [supplier release]. Healthcare Packaging; 30 Mar 2023. Available from: healthcarepackaging.com. Accessed Oct 2026.
  6. Korsch AG. XL 4004 SFP single-sided high-speed rotary tablet press [supplier listing]. Pharmaceutical Technology. Available from: pharmaceutical-tech.com. Accessed Oct 2026.
  7. GEA Group. Neue Tablettenpresse NexGen Press 45 [trade press release]. 26 Jun 2024. Available from: gea.com. Accessed Oct 2026.
  8. Syntegon. Tablet press – FlexiTab XL, TPR 200, TPR 200 Plus, TPR 500, TPR 700. Available from: syntegon.com. Accessed Oct 2026.
  9. IMA Group. PREXIMA tableting – Prexima 80, 300 and 800 technical data. Available from: imagroup.com. Accessed Oct 2026.
  10. European Commission. EudraLex Volume 4, Annex 11: Computerised Systems. Brussels; 2011 (in operation 30 Jun 2011). Available from: health.ec.europa.eu. Accessed Oct 2026.
  11. MFLRC. EU GMP Annex 11 revision: computerised systems, data integrity and AI rules arriving in 2026 [secondary source on draft status]. 11 Jun 2026. Available from: mflrc.com. Accessed Oct 2026.
  12. Business Standard. Pharma units likely to face action for Schedule M violations [news report of DCGI directive dated 7 Nov 2025]. 8 Nov 2025. Available from: business-standard.com. Accessed Oct 2026.
  13. Naumann BD, Sargent EV, Starkman BS, Fraser WJ, Becker GT, Kirk GD. Performance-based exposure control limits for pharmaceutical active ingredients. Am Ind Hyg Assoc J. 1996;57(1):33-42. Available from: doi.org/10.1080/15428119691015197. Accessed Oct 2026.
  14. Manufacturing Chemist. ACHEMA: Fette offers containment package for FE55 rotary tablet press. 23 Jun 2015. Available from: manufacturingchemist.com. Accessed Oct 2026.
  15. European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines. European Pharmacopoeia 7.0, 2.9.5 Uniformity of mass of single-dose preparations (01/2008:20905). Strasbourg: Council of Europe [historical edition read via reprint mirror]. Available from: drugfuture.com. Accessed Oct 2026.
  16. US Food and Drug Administration. Q4B Annex 6: Uniformity of Dosage Units General Chapter, Guidance for Industry, Revision 1. Jun 2014. Available from: fda.gov. Accessed Oct 2026.
  17. US Food and Drug Administration. Q4B Annex 9(R1): Tablet Friability General Chapter, Guidance for Industry. Sep 2017. Available from: fda.gov. Accessed Oct 2026.
  18. European Directorate for the Quality of Medicines. European Pharmacopoeia 7.0, 2.9.8 Resistance to crushing of tablets (01/2008:20908). Strasbourg: Council of Europe [historical edition read via reprint mirror]. Available from: drugfuture.com. Accessed Oct 2026.

This page is technical and educational. It is not legal, purchasing or investment advice, and it does not endorse any manufacturer. Specifications are the makers’ published figures as read on 24 October 2026 and change without notice; confirm them in a written quotation. Pharmacopoeial texts, EU GMP annexes and Indian statutory instruments are revised frequently — check the current edition before use.

Darshan Singh
Darshan Singh

Author is a pharmaceutical quality and regulatory professional with more than 23 years in drug manufacturing. He holds an M.Sc. in Organic Chemistry and a Diploma in Pharmacy. He has served as Quality Control Head, Quality Assurance Head and Plant Head, overseeing all manufacturing operations. He is co-founder and regulatory consultant at Laafon Galaxy Pharmaceuticals. He writes on SOPs, manufacturing processes, Schedule M compliance and drug pharmacology, and checks each claim against pharmacopoeial and regulatory sources.

Articles: 242