Short answer · HPLC price in India
There is no list price for a new pharma-grade HPLC in India — only quotes for a configuration
Agilent, Waters, Shimadzu, Thermo Fisher and PerkinElmer do not publish Indian prices for their current systems. The only public rupee figures we could verify in September 2026 are dealer asking prices on IndiaMART and Tradeindia: ₹13.5 lakh to ₹15 lakh (excluding taxes) for listings that name a new-generation model but do not state condition or configuration, and ₹6.5 lakh to ₹10.5 lakh for refurbished or unspecified older systems.[1][2][3][4][5]
What actually sets the figure on a GMP purchase order is the configuration: pump type and pressure class, PDA versus UV detector, the compliant data-system licence, installation qualification, and the service contract after warranty. Use the cost calculator below to compare quotes on a five-year basis rather than on the base price.
September 2026 update
Six things that changed since most “top HPLC” lists were written
We re-checked every model and specification against manufacturer documents. These changes matter when you compare quotes today:
LC-2050/LC-2060 now have successors
Shimadzu launched the i-Series LC-2070 and LC-2080 on 1 September 2025. Its global specification page now lists only these two models, so ask which generation you are being quoted.[6][7]
Alliance iS pressure: 12,000 psi, not 10,000
Waters’ current product page gives a maximum operating pressure of 12,000 psi. The March 2023 launch specification sheet said 10,000 psi.[8][9]
Waters is now combined with BD’s biosciences business
Waters completed its combination with BD’s Biosciences & Diagnostic Solutions businesses on 9 February 2026.[10] Check that your service and support contacts are unchanged.
“PerkinElmer” is a different company since 2023
On 13 March 2023 PerkinElmer sold its Applied, Food and Enterprise Services businesses to New Mountain Capital. The retained life-sciences company was renamed later that year.[11] The LC 300 belongs to the divested business, which trades as PerkinElmer.
Why the choice matters
HPLC buying in Indian pharma: compliance and service now matter as much as specs
According to a March 2026 PIB backgrounder, India’s domestic pharmaceutical market is valued at USD 60 billion and is projected to reach USD 130 billion by 2030.[16] Markets and Data projects the Indian chromatography instruments market to grow from USD 451.23 million in FY2024 to USD 804.76 million by FY2032, a 7.5% CAGR. That is a commercial forecast, not official data.[17]
An HPLC in a regulated QC lab produces release data, so inspectors look at the whole data trail, not just the result. The US FDA’s guidance on data integrity (December 2018) sets out the questions an auditor asks about audit trails, user access and deleted or reprocessed runs.[18] In practice, the data system and the controls it enforces carry as much regulatory risk as the pump.
Every system below uses the same basic flow path. Our guide to the principle of HPLC and system suitability limits explains each stage:
- ReservoirMobile phase and degassing
- PumpIsocratic, binary or quaternary
- AutosamplerInjection and sample cooling
- Column + ovenWhere separation happens
- DetectorUV, PDA, FLD, RI or MS
- CDSAudit trail, results, e-signature
Column chemistry affects method transfer more than most buyers expect. See our guide to types of HPLC columns.
Interactive · 3 questions
Which HPLC system fits your lab? Build a shortlist
Answer all three questions to see a shortlist
The shortlist is based on the verified specifications on this page. It is a starting point for asking vendors questions, not an endorsement of any brand.
The five systems
Top 5 HPLC models in India in 2026: specifications from manufacturer documents
Maximum pressure is always tied to flow rate. Several of these systems lose pressure capability at higher flow, which is noted where the manufacturer states it.
Agilent 1290 Infinity III LC: the UHPLC flagship
Agilent launched the Infinity III series on 21 October 2024. It was the first HPLC range with InfinityLab Assist, which automates instrument routines and provides help with maintenance and troubleshooting.[19] The 1290 High-Speed Pump combines “ultrahigh pressure up to 1300 bar and high analytical flow rates up to 5 mL/min”, with delay volumes down to 10 µL.[20]
Method transfer: Intelligent System Emulation Technology (ISET) lets the system imitate other instrument modules so that existing methods keep their retention times and resolution.[20] A biocompatible 1290 Infinity III Bio LC is also available at up to 1300 bar, with ISET as an option.[21]
For routine QC, many Indian labs will be quoted the 1260 Infinity III instead. Agilent India’s IndiaMART listing gives an operating range of up to 600 bar.[22] Ask for a quote on both if your methods are conventional HPLC.
Removed from the earlier version of this post: the “30× linear range” detector claim and the list of bio-inert materials. Neither appears in the Agilent documents we checked.
Waters Alliance iS HPLC System: built for QC labs
Waters introduced the Alliance iS at Pittcon 2023, with availability from May 2023.[23] Its current product page gives a maximum operating pressure of 12,000 psi and a flow range of 0.001–10.000 mL/min.[8] The 2023 specification sheet listed 10,000 psi up to 5 mL/min, falling to 4,000 psi at 10 mL/min, plus a gradient delay volume of ≤1100 µL.[9] Confirm which pressure rating applies to the unit you are quoted.
Error prevention: Waters says the system reduces human errors “by up to 40%”. That is a vendor claim based on a 2022 survey of 56 pharma QC labs, not an independent study.[8] In Empower, the features include Method Matching, which warns users who try to run an unsupported method, and pre-run checks of column, vials, plates and solvent levels.[8]
Column tracking: eConnect column tags record column history. The product page describes them as RFID, while the launch press release says near-field communication (NFC).[8][23] Either way, the check only works with Waters eConnect columns, so include column cost in your comparison.
Shimadzu i-Series (LC-2050/2060 and successors LC-2070/2080): integrated systems
The i-Series combines pump, autosampler, column oven and UV or PDA detector in one housing. The LC-2050/2060 specification sheet gives a width of 410 mm and a depth of 500 mm, and claims three units fit on a bench where two comparable systems would.[24] Pressure falls at higher flow: 50 MPa (LC-2050) or 70 MPa (LC-2060) up to 3 mL/min, then 44 MPa to 5 mL/min and 22 MPa to 10 mL/min.[24]
2025 successors: Shimadzu released the LC-2070 (50 MPa) and LC-2080 (70 MPa) on 1 September 2025.[6][7] Shimadzu says the new models automatically check the solvent delivery unit and autosampler before each analysis, and offer optional column-usage logging (iCMP).[6] FlowPilot links flow rate to column oven temperature to avoid sudden pressure loads on the column.[25]
Software for smaller labs: LabSolutions DB is a standalone configuration that manages data on one computer, for up to 4 LC or GC units, with audit trail and electronic signature settings.[26] Larger sites use the client-server LabSolutions CS.
Service in India: Spinco Biotech describes a 44-year partnership with Shimadzu, “55+ support centres across India” and more than 30,000 installations. These are Spinco’s own figures.[27] We could not confirm the “exclusive distributor” and “10,000 HPLC installations” claims from the earlier version of this post, so they have been removed.
Thermo Scientific Vanquish Core: built around method transfer
Vanquish Core pumps are rated at 20–700 bar. Above 5 mL/min the limit falls linearly to 300 bar. Flow runs from 0.001 to 10 mL/min, and the default dwell volume is 400 µL for the binary pump and 679 µL for the quaternary pump.[28]
Tunable gradient delay volume: Thermo says users can “tune the idle volume without replumbing or requalifying the system”. The product table lists customisable delay volume “with method transfer kit”.[29] This helps when you move gradient methods from an older instrument with a larger dwell volume. Budget for the kit, and confirm the transfer with a documented comparison under your change-control procedure.
All system parameters are logged in the Chromeleon CDS audit trail.[28] Labs that already run Chromeleon for LC-MS can use one platform for both.
PerkinElmer LC 300: a modular value option
The LC 300 is sold as HPLC and UHPLC systems, and pump options are listed at 10,000 and 18,000 psi.[30] It offers five detectors (PDA, single-wavelength UV/Vis, multi-wavelength UV/Vis, fluorescence and refractive index) and runs on SimplicityChrom CDS.[31][30]
Ownership: Since March 2023 the analytical instruments business has been owned by New Mountain Capital.[11] Before signing a long AMC, ask who provides service in your region, which engineers are trained on the LC 300, and how spare parts are supplied.
We could not find a published flow-rate range on the manufacturer pages we checked, so none is shown. Ask for the specification sheet with the quote.
Side by side
HPLC make and model comparison: pressure, flow, software and service
| Feature | Agilent 1290 Infinity III | Waters Alliance iS | Shimadzu LC-2060 / LC-2080 | Thermo Vanquish Core | PerkinElmer LC 300 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Max pressure | 1300 bar | 12,000 psi* | 70 MPa (≤3 mL/min) | 700 bar | 10k or 18k psi |
| ≈ bar | 1300 | ≈ 827 | 700 | 700 | ≈ 690 / 1241 |
| Flow (stated) | Up to 5 mL/min | 0.001–10 mL/min | 0.0001–10 mL/min | 0.001–10 mL/min | Not published |
| Design | Modular stack | Integrated with touchscreen | Integrated | Modular | Modular |
| Data system | OpenLab CDS | Empower | LabSolutions DB / CS | Chromeleon | SimplicityChrom |
| Method-transfer tool | ISET emulation | Method Matching, iMTA app | FlowPilot, pre-run self-check (LC-2070/2080) | Tunable delay volume (kit) | — |
| Bio / inert variant | 1290 Infinity III Bio | Alliance iS Bio | Ask vendor | Ask vendor | Ask vendor |
| Suits | R&D, UHPLC methods | High-volume regulated QC | Space-limited QC, MSMEs, academia | Replacing mixed older fleets | Cost-sensitive labs |
Scroll sideways on mobile → · *2023 spec sheet: 10,000 psi. Sources: [20] [8] [24] [28] [30]. The bar conversions are our own arithmetic (1 psi = 0.06895 bar).
Pressure versus compliance: the higher pressure of the 1290 Infinity III and the 18k psi LC 300 is only worth paying for if you will actually run UHPLC methods. Under the harmonised USP <621>, gradient methods can be modernised within set limits: L/dp can change by −25% to +50%, and gradient time is scaled for column dimensions and flow.[12] That makes a 700–830 bar system a realistic middle option. A method moved outside those limits must be revalidated; see our method validation roadmap.
Price evidence · checked Sep 2026
HPLC system price in India (lakh): what public listings actually show
Many pages quote firm lakh figures for new HPLC systems but give no source. We looked for rupee prices we could verify, and these are the only ones we found. They are asking prices from marketplace listings, not negotiated purchase-order values.
| Listing | Asking price | Condition / configuration stated | Seller city | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thermo Fisher Vanquish Core HPLC | ₹15,00,000 + taxes | Condition and modules not stated; 1-year warranty | Pune | [1] |
| Agilent 1260 HPLC System | ₹13,50,000 + taxes | Condition not stated; description refers to the 1200 Series | Hyderabad | [2] |
| Agilent 1260 Infinity II, quaternary | ₹10,50,000 + taxes | OEM-refurbished, 2020–2022 make; 12-month warranty; installation extra | Thane | [3] |
| Shimadzu Prominence series | ₹9,00,000 + taxes | Imported, refurbished; modules not stated | Vasai-Virar | [4] |
| Waters Alliance HPLC System | ₹6,53,000 | Model and condition not stated | Hyderabad | [5] |
| Agilent 1260 Infinity III (Agilent India listing) | Price not shown | Isocratic; up to 600 bar | New Delhi | [22] |
| Alliance iS, LC-2070/2080, 1290 Infinity III, LC 300 | No public Indian price found | Available on quotation only | — | — |
Scroll sideways on mobile →
How to read these numbers: none of these listings describes a complete GMP configuration, meaning a PDA detector, a CDS licence with audit trail, installation and operational qualification, and a post-warranty AMC. The same applies to prices you see on GeM and IndiaMART: each is tied to one seller’s configuration. Compare quotes only on an identical, written configuration, and confirm the applicable GST on the quotation.
Interactive · compare quotes
HPLC cost in India: five-year cost of ownership calculator
Enter the figures from a vendor quotation. Leave any line blank if it does not apply. Nothing is pre-filled, because published benchmarks for these costs do not exist.
Up-front cost: ₹0
Running cost over the period: ₹0
Total cost of ownership: ₹0
Average per year: ₹0
Indicative arithmetic only, not a quotation. It excludes GST, solvents, analyst time, requalification after major repairs and downtime. For a whole QC lab or plant budget, use the pharma plant setup cost calculator.
Names buyers search for
HPLC software names and HPLC companies in India
Chromatography data systems (CDS)
Empower (Waters) · OpenLab CDS (Agilent) · LabSolutions DB/CS (Shimadzu) · Chromeleon (Thermo Fisher) · SimplicityChrom (PerkinElmer). The CDS determines your audit trail, user privileges and e-signature workflow. Choose it together with the instrument, not after.
Who sells and services them
Agilent, Waters, Thermo Fisher and PerkinElmer sell in India. Shimadzu systems are supplied and serviced through Spinco Biotech.[27] Other brands also supply the Indian market. This page covers only the five platforms compared above.
Service beats brochure specs
For plants in Baddi, Paonta Sahib or other industrial clusters, ask each vendor in writing for the nearest engineer’s base, the response-time SLA and parts availability. Then set your HPLC preventive maintenance SOP around that SLA.
From the QC head’s desk
Before you sign the HPLC purchase order: a 10-point checklist
- The configuration on the quote is written down module by module (pump type, detector, autosampler, oven), with part numbers.
- The model generation is stated, for example LC-2060 versus LC-2080, or 1260 Infinity II versus III.
- Pressure is stated together with its flow rate, and checked against your fastest method.
- The CDS licence includes audit trail, user roles and e-signatures, and the vendor confirms which CDS version supports the instrument.
- Installation qualification and operational qualification (IQ/OQ) are in scope, with the protocols provided before installation.
- Dwell/delay volume has been measured or declared, so gradient methods can be transferred under USP <621>.[12]
- The service SLA names an engineer location and response time for your plant, not just “pan-India support”.
- AMC and CMC prices for years 2–5 are fixed in writing now.
- For a refurbished system: OEM or third-party refurbishment, the parts replaced, and whether the current CDS still supports it.
- The lab layout and utilities (power backup, HVAC) are ready. See our Schedule M plant area and QC lab requirements and Schedule M compliance dashboard.
FAQ
HPLC price and model questions from Indian labs
The manufacturers do not publish Indian prices for current systems. Public dealer listings checked in September 2026 ask about ₹13.5–15 lakh plus taxes for listings that do not state condition or configuration, and about ₹6.5–10.5 lakh for refurbished or unspecified older systems. A complete GMP configuration with PDA, compliant CDS, IQ/OQ and AMC is priced only on quotation.
Each listing prices one seller’s configuration. Condition (new, OEM-refurbished or used), detector type, software licence, warranty and whether installation is included all change the figure. Two listings can only be compared if their configurations are identical.
The data systems for the five platforms on this page are Empower (Waters), OpenLab CDS (Agilent), LabSolutions DB and CS (Shimadzu), Chromeleon (Thermo Fisher) and SimplicityChrom (PerkinElmer). For regulated work, check the audit trail, user access controls and electronic signature workflow, not just the interface.
Shimadzu released the LC-2070 and LC-2080 on 1 September 2025 as successors to the LC-2050 and LC-2060. Its global specification page lists the LC-2070 at 50 MPa and the LC-2080 at 70 MPa, up to 3 mL/min. Ask which generation a quotation covers.
It can be, provided the system is qualified before use and its data system meets data-integrity expectations: secure audit trails, controlled user access and no unrecorded deletion or reprocessing. The US FDA data integrity Q&A guidance (December 2018) describes what inspectors look for. Confirm the refurbished unit is still supported by a current CDS version.
Not necessarily. Conventional compendial methods run on standard HPLC. Since the harmonised USP chapter 621 became official on 1 December 2022, gradient methods can be modernised within defined limits, so a 700–830 bar system gives headroom for faster methods without paying for a 1300 bar pump you may never use.
Yes, indirectly. Revised Schedule M (G.S.R. 922(E), 28 December 2023) includes requirements on qualification and validation, and the Form A gap analysis used for MSME extension requests listed lab equipment as a gap item. The extended timeline for eligible manufacturers ran to 31 December 2025.
Related on Laafon
Setting up or upgrading a QC lab?
An instrument alone won’t get you through an inspection
Laafon Galaxy helps pharma manufacturers plan QC labs and prepare for Revised Schedule M, WHO-GMP and export audits. We help with equipment lists, lab layout and compliance gap assessment, based on more than 23 years of hands-on QC and QA experience.
References
- Nirav Biosolutions Pvt Ltd. Thermo Fisher Vanquish Core HPLC systems, for laboratory use [marketplace listing]. IndiaMART. Available from: indiamart.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Gumtree India Analytical. Agilent 1260 HPLC System, for laboratory use [marketplace listing]. IndiaMART. Available from: indiamart.com. Accessed September 2026.
- E & I Engineering. Refurbished Agilent 1260 Infinity II HPLC system, 2020–2022 [marketplace listing]. IndiaMART. Available from: indiamart.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Labazone Technologies. Imported refurbished Shimadzu Prominence series HPLC [marketplace listing]. IndiaMART. Available from: indiamart.com. Accessed September 2026.
- HPLC Engineers. Waters Alliance HPLC System [marketplace listing]. Tradeindia. Available from: tradeindia.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Shimadzu Corporation. Release of the i-Series integrated high-performance liquid chromatographs LC-2070 and LC-2080 [news release]. Kyoto: Shimadzu; 2025. Available from: shimadzu.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Shimadzu Corporation. i-Series specifications (LC-2070 / LC-2080). Available from: shimadzu.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Waters Corporation. Alliance iS HPLC System product page. Milford, MA: Waters. Available from: waters.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Waters Corporation. Alliance iS HPLC System specification sheet, 720007867EN. Milford, MA: Waters; March 2023. Available from: labrulez.com (PDF mirror). Accessed September 2026.
- Waters Corporation. Waters completes combination with BD’s Biosciences & Diagnostic Solutions businesses [press release]. PR Newswire; 9 February 2026. Available from: prnewswire.com. Accessed September 2026.
- PerkinElmer, Inc. (now Revvity, Inc.). PerkinElmer completes divestiture of its Applied, Food and Enterprise Services businesses [press release]; 13 March 2023. Available from: news.revvity.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Agilent Technologies. Understanding the latest revisions to USP <621> [white paper], 5994-6618EN. Santa Clara, CA: Agilent; 2023. Available from: agilent.com. Accessed September 2026.
- LCGC International. Are you sure you understand USP <621>? 16 September 2024. Available from: chromatographyonline.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India. G.S.R. 922(E): Notification of Schedule M of the Drugs Rules, 1945. Gazette of India; 28 December 2023. Available from: cdsco.gov.in. Accessed September 2026.
- Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Government of India. G.S.R. 127(E): Drugs (Amendment) Rules, 2025. Gazette of India; 11 February 2025. Available from: cdsco.gov.in. Accessed September 2026.
- Press Information Bureau, Government of India. India’s pharmaceuticals in global healthcare [backgrounder]. New Delhi: PIB; 21 March 2026. Available from: pib.gov.in. Accessed September 2026.
- Markets and Data. India chromatography instruments market assessment, FY2018–FY2032, report MX12231. November 2024. Available from: marketsandata.com. Accessed September 2026.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Data integrity and compliance with drug CGMP: questions and answers. Guidance for industry. Silver Spring, MD: FDA; December 2018. Available from: fda.gov. Accessed September 2026.
- Agilent Technologies. Agilent revolutionizes HPLC with the launch of the Agilent Infinity III LC series [press release]. Santa Clara, CA: Agilent; 21 October 2024. Available from: agilent.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Agilent Technologies. InfinityLab LC Series 1290 Infinity III LC System — system manual, SD-29000160 Rev. E.02. Waldbronn: Agilent; November 2025. Available from: agilent.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Agilent Technologies. 1290 Infinity III Bio LC System product page. Available from: agilent.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Agilent Technologies India Pvt Ltd. Agilent 1260 Infinity III liquid chromatography system [marketplace listing]. IndiaMART. Available from: indiamart.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Waters Corporation. Waters introduces next-generation Alliance iS HPLC System aimed at reducing up to 40% of common lab errors [press release]. Business Wire; 20 March 2023. Available from: businesswire.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Shimadzu Corporation. High performance liquid chromatograph i-Series specifications (LC-2050/LC-2060), C196-E099A. Kyoto: Shimadzu; 2021. Available from: masontechnology.ie (distributor PDF). Accessed September 2026.
- Shimadzu Corporation. i-Series features. Available from: shimadzu.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Shimadzu Corporation. LabSolutions DB/CS product and features pages. Available from: shimadzu.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Spinco Biotech Pvt Ltd. Chromatography and About Us pages. Chennai: Spinco. Available from: spincotech.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Thermo Fisher Scientific. Vanquish pumps product specifications, PS73056-EN. Available from: thermofisher.com. Accessed September 2026.
- Thermo Fisher Scientific. Vanquish Core HPLC systems product page. Available from: thermofisher.com. Accessed September 2026.
- SelectScience. LC 300 HPLC and UHPLC System product listing (secondary source). Available from: selectscience.net. Accessed September 2026.
- PerkinElmer. Discover the LC 300 HPLC and UHPLC systems. Available from: perkinelmer.com. Accessed September 2026.
Disclaimer: This article is technical and educational information for laboratory and procurement professionals. It is not purchasing, investment, legal or medical advice, and Laafon Galaxy has no commercial relationship with any manufacturer named. Specifications, prices, ownership and pharmacopoeial and Indian regulatory texts change often. Confirm current details with the manufacturer, the latest official pharmacopoeia and the Gazette of India before acting. Marketplace prices are sellers’ asking prices at the date checked.




