Rental listing · Tahliwal, Una, Himachal Pradesh · Rent or buy
The short answer
A licensed pharma unit for rent in Una, Himachal Pradesh, at Phase III, Industrial Area Tahliwal, Tehsil Haroli. The owner asks INR 4 lakh a month. The unit holds Form 25 and Form 28 licences for three non-beta-lactam sections: tablets, capsules and liquid orals, in about 12,000 sq ft of construction commissioned in 2022.
The same unit is also offered for outright purchase at INR 6.5 crore; see the sale listing. For most tenants the practical route here is a loan licence on the owner’s approved premises, because the State’s industrial-area rules limit how much of a unit an allottee may rent out.
Listing prepared by Darshan Singh, Laafon Galaxy Pharmaceuticals · Published 27 October 2026 · Information level: Seller declared
- Monthly rentINR 4 lakh
- SectionsTablets, capsules, liquid orals
- LicencesForm 25 and Form 28
- Constructed area~12,000 sq ft
- Commissioned2022 · State GMP
- Deposit / lock-inOn enquiry
Source of the figures. Rent, sections, areas, capacity and certification are declared by the owner. Laafon Galaxy has not yet reviewed the licence copies or inspected the site, so every figure on this page is at the Seller declared level. Use it to shortlist and plan a site visit, not as a substitute for one.
Rent it or buy it: the same unit, two deals
This unit is offered both ways. The two figures below set the frame for every other number on this page.
-
This page
Rent
INR 4 lakh / month
INR 48 lakh a year before GST and escalation. You keep your capital for stock, product permissions and marketing.
-
Buy
INR 6.5 crore
Full ownership of the business, its licences and its job-work clients. See the sale listing.
One year’s rent equals about 7.4% of the asking price. At a flat INR 4 lakh, cumulative rent reaches INR 6.5 crore after about 13 and a half years; with an annual escalation clause it gets there sooner. Test your own assumptions in the cost tools below.
Which rental route fits this unit
“Renting a pharma unit” covers different legal arrangements. Select a route to see what you would hold and what to check first.
Best fit hereCheck with the State firstAlternative
-
- You apply in Form 24A for a loan licence in Form 25A, or Form 27A for Form 28A where Schedule C or C(1) drugs are involved [1]. Products carry your company name as manufacturer.
- The premises stay approved under the owner’s licence, so this is usually the quickest route to a first batch. The State Licensing Authority sets the actual pace.
- Under the revised Schedule M you, as loan licensee, must audit the owner’s facility and keep the outsourced activity under your own quality system [8]. Write the split of responsibilities into the agreement.
- Since 6 August 2026, Rule 89 expressly lists Form 25A and 28A holders among those whose licence counts when a test licence in Form 29 is assessed [9].
-
- A licensing authority asks for proof of title to the premises, such as an ownership document or a registered lease deed, before it grants a manufacturing licence [2]. Expect a full inspection against the revised Schedule M before the grant.
- The land question comes first. Where the plot is allotted by the HP Department of Industries, Rule 6.13 of the State’s 2019 rules lets an allottee rent out no more than 49% of the approved built-up area, only area surplus to its own needs, only to make items other than its own, and only with the Director’s permission for up to 10 years at a time [6].
- A whole-unit lease therefore needs the Department’s written position before you sign. Ask the owner for the allotment letter and lease deed so the tenure can be confirmed.
-
If your volumes are small or irregular, third-party manufacturing under the owner’s own licence avoids a fixed monthly rent. The trade-off is that the owner, not you, appears as manufacturer and controls scheduling. Compare the per-unit rent loading below with conversion quotes before you commit.
Settle the route before the rent. The route decides whose licence the products carry, who answers to the drugs inspector, and whether the Department of Industries must approve the arrangement. Fix it in writing first, then negotiate deposit, lock-in and escalation.
Rent cost tools
Two quick checks on the INR 4 lakh rent. Both run on the figures you set; nothing is stored or sent.
How much rent, over how many years?
- Rent in the final year–
- Total rent over the period–
- Total with 18% GST–
- Rent reaches the INR 6.5 Cr price in–
–
What the rent adds to each unit you make
- Rated capacity per shift–
- Output per month–
- Rent per 1,000 tablets–
Rated capacity per 8-hour shift as declared by the owner (tablets 5 lakh, capsules 3 lakh, liquid orals 20,000 bottles); confirm it machine-wise at the site visit. The figure assumes the whole rent is charged to one section. If you run two or three sections, the loading per unit falls.
GST on the rent. Renting commercial property attracts GST at 18%. If the owner is GST-registered, the owner charges it; if the owner is not registered and you are, you pay it yourself under reverse charge, a rule in force since 10 October 2024 [7]. A registered tenant using the unit for taxable supplies can generally claim the input tax credit. Confirm the treatment with your chartered accountant.
The facility
Photographs supplied by the owner. Select any image to enlarge it.
-
The unit at TahliwalLicensed for tablets, capsules and liquid orals. -
Facility viewSupplied by the owner. -
Facility viewSupplied by the owner.
What the rent gives you access to
Licences and certification
- Form 25 and Form 28 manufacturing licences issued by the Drugs Control Administration, Himachal Pradesh, for tablets (non-beta-lactam), capsules (non-beta-lactam) and liquid orals. Form 25 covers drugs outside Schedules C, C(1) and X; Form 28 covers Schedule C and C(1) drugs other than Schedule X.
- Validity: since the 2017 amendment a manufacturing licence stays valid while the retention fee is paid every five years [3]. For a 2022 licence the current retention period runs to 2027, so ask for the retention fee receipt as well as the licence.
- Certification: State cGMP approval. No WHO-GMP certificate has been disclosed, so treat the unit as a domestic-market plant unless the owner shows otherwise.
- Product permissions: 250+ formulations across eight therapeutic categories are on the owner’s licence. Under a loan licence you need permissions in your own name for each product you make.
Plant, utilities and capacity, as declared
| Item | Owner’s declaration |
|---|---|
| Sections | Tablets, capsules and liquid orals, all non-beta-lactam |
| Constructed area | About 12,000 sq ft |
| Land | About 800 sq yd (about 7,200 sq ft); check against the allotment letter or lease deed |
| Commissioned | 2022 |
| Rated capacity, per 8-hour shift | Tablets 5 lakh; capsules 3 lakh; liquid orals 20,000 bottles |
| Purified water | 1,000 L/hour generation, 2,000 L storage |
| Current use | Running, with about 30 third-party clients |
Scroll the table sideways on a phone.
Ask how the existing clients fit in. A running unit with job-work clients may be offered as a whole, or as slots alongside those clients. Get exclusivity, scheduling priority and the share of capacity already committed in writing.
Tahliwal, Una
- Industrial area: Phase III, Industrial Area Tahliwal, Tehsil Haroli, District Una, part of the Una belt with Mehatpur, Gagret and Amb.
- Road: roughly 110 to 130 km from Chandigarh, depending on the route.
- Rail: Una Himachal about 16 km; Nangal Dam about 20 km.
- Regulator: Drugs Control Administration, Himachal Pradesh, which posts drugs inspectors at Una.
What is known about the terms
| Term | Position |
|---|---|
| Monthly rent | INR 4 lakh, plus GST as applicable |
| Security deposit | On enquiry |
| Lock-in and notice | On enquiry |
| Annual escalation | Not disclosed |
| Included in the rent | To be agreed: power, water, QC, staff, maintenance, calibration |
| Licence route | Loan licence expected; any lease needs the Department of Industries’ view |
Scroll the table sideways on a phone.
Revised Schedule M and a rented unit
The revised Schedule M was notified as G.S.R. 922(E) on 28 December 2023 [4]. The extended deadline for manufacturers with turnover up to INR 250 crore ended on 31 December 2025, and in November 2025 CDSCO asked State regulators to inspect non-compliant units and report monthly [5]. The standard is now being enforced.
For a tenant this is the biggest single risk: if the owner’s unit fails a State inspection, your production stops too, whatever route you rent on. The owner has not stated the unit’s revised Schedule M status, so ask for the gap assessment, the latest State inspection report and the closure of its observations before you sign. The revised Schedule M compliance dashboard tracks what inspectors now look for.
Ten questions to put to this owner
- Will you agree in writing to the loan licence route, and who files and pays for the application?
- Licence copies with endorsed product lists, and the last retention fee receipt.
- The revised Schedule M gap assessment, the latest State inspection report and the closure of observations.
- Is the land allotted by the Department of Industries? Share the allotment letter and lease deed.
- Is the unit offered whole, or alongside the existing job-work clients? What capacity is already committed?
- What the INR 4 lakh includes: power, water, QC testing, technical staff, maintenance and calibration.
- Security deposit, lock-in period, annual escalation and notice period on both sides.
- Which technical staff approved on the licence will run your batches, and who signs batch release?
- Pollution Control Board consents and how effluent from your products will be handled.
- Whether any machine is hypothecated to a lender, and the exit terms if the unit is sold while you rent it.
For a full document review, use the pharma plant acquisition checklist; most of its licence, utility and QC checks apply to a rented unit too.
Rent this Una unit and manufacture under your own name
Send your company name, the sections and monthly volumes you need, and when you want to start. Put Pharma Unit for Rent in Una in the subject line. We share the owner’s documents, arrange the site visit and, if you go ahead, prepare and file the loan licence application.
Darshan Singh · Co-founder and regulatory consultant, 23+ years in pharmaceutical QA, QC and regulatory affairs
Email: contact@laafon.com
Phone / WhatsApp: 9812446733
Frequently asked questions
The owner asks INR 4 lakh a month, which is INR 48 lakh a year before GST and any escalation. Deposit and lock-in are given on enquiry.
Tablets, capsules and liquid orals, all non-beta-lactam, under the owner’s Form 25 and Form 28 licences. It is not licensed for injectables or beta-lactam products.
A loan licence in Form 25A, or Form 28A for Schedule C and C(1) drugs, is the most practical route. Taking the premises on lease under your own licence needs a fresh inspection and, where the plot is allotted by the Department of Industries, its permission, which the State rules cap at 49% of the built-up area.
Yes. The same unit is listed for sale at INR 6.5 crore. At a flat INR 4 lakh a month, cumulative rent reaches that price after about 13 and a half years.
Yes, at 18% on commercial rent. A registered owner charges it; if the owner is unregistered and you are registered, you pay it under reverse charge. A registered tenant can generally claim the input tax credit.
Yes. The MSME deadline passed on 31 December 2025 and State inspections are under way. If the unit fails an inspection, your production stops too, so ask for the latest inspection report and the closure of its observations before signing.
Compare before you commit
- The same Una unit for sale at INR 6.5 Cr: licences, due diligence score and buyer checklist.
- All pharma units for rent: Roorkee, Rewari and Una side by side.
- Pharma unit for rent in Roorkee, INR 4 lakh a month
- Pharma unit for rent in Rewari, Haryana, INR 6.5 lakh a month
- Loan licence facilitation (Form 25A / 28A)
References
- Drugs Rules, 1945, Schedule A: Form 24A and 25A, Form 27A and 28A (loan licences). Form titles as indexed by The Health Master: thehealthmaster.com. Secondary source; check against the Rules as amended. Accessed October 2026.
- Directorate of Food and Drugs Administration, Government of Goa. Licence for Manufacturing Pharmaceutical Products (own or loan licence): document checklist, including title of the premises such as ownership or rental lease deed. dfda.goa.gov.in (PDF). Illustrative State practice; confirm Himachal Pradesh requirements on dcla.hp.gov.in. Accessed October 2026.
- Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. Drugs and Cosmetics (Tenth Amendment) Rules, 2017. G.S.R. 1337(E), 27 October 2017 (licence retention fee every five years, including Forms 25A and 28A). Summary: mondaq.com. Accessed October 2026.
- Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. Revised Schedule M, G.S.R. 922(E), 28 December 2023, and conditional extension to 31 December 2025, G.S.R. 127(E), 11 February 2025. Press Information Bureau, 12 February 2025: pib.gov.in. Accessed October 2026.
- Pharmabiz. Revised Schedule M: CDSCO asks State regulators to take action on non-compliant SMEs. 8 November 2025. pharmabiz.com. Trade press. Accessed October 2026.
- Government of Himachal Pradesh, Department of Industries. Rules Regarding Grant of Incentives, Concessions and Facilities for Investment Promotion in Himachal Pradesh, 2019, Rule 6.13 (renting out surplus built-up area). Notification No. Ind.-A(F)2-2/2019-I, 16 August 2019, as amended to March 2024. emerginghimachal.hp.gov.in (PDF). Check for later amendments. Accessed October 2026.
- ClearTax. RCM on rent of commercial property under GST (reverse charge for renting by an unregistered person to a registered person, from 10 October 2024). cleartax.in. Secondary source. Accessed October 2026.
- JSA Advocates and Solicitors. Knowledge Management Semi-Annual Healthcare Compendium, 2024: revised Schedule M, production under loan licence or contract. mondaq.com. Accessed October 2026.
- Ministry of Health and Family Welfare. Drugs (Twelfth Amendment) Rules, 2026, G.S.R. 713(E), 6 August 2026 (Rule 89 amended to include Forms 25A and 28A, among others). CDSCO gazette notifications. Accessed October 2026.
This listing is commercial and technical information for prospective tenants. It is not an offer, a valuation, or legal, tax or regulatory advice. All unit details are declared by the owner and have not been independently verified by Laafon Galaxy Pharmaceuticals. Confirm the current position with the Drugs Control Administration, Himachal Pradesh, the Department of Industries and your own advisers before signing an agreement or committing funds.
